Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Double approvals w/ surprises - Disco/Apple Card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Double approvals w/ surprises - Disco/Apple Card

First real post here guys and gals but I've been lurking since about April of this year. So I was recently approved for Discover Cash Back and Apple Card and want to share some interesting DPs with you.

I'm about 1 year into my rebuild due to living in Asia for 11 years. I didnt have any cards here in the States while I was over there so was pretty much starting over minus having one AU account and one collection from 2013 (which I have no knowledge of TBH, but it's so close to falling off that I'm not going to bother fighting it). I guess thanks to the AU account, scores were hovering around 650 as of one year ago when I returned.

Here are some notes on the approvals:

Discover: Wouldn't touch me with a 10-ft pole thru most of this year. I tried pre-qual 3 to 4 times over the span of 9 months. They wouldn't even give me a secured card. Then on Nov. 4th, pre-qualified and approved. SL: 10k @ 24.49%. Pulled EX w/ 684. What??

Apple Card: Previously denied for too many new accounts (shocking -- see below) and I was fine with that... but a bit jealous that my Korean wife with only 6 months worth of credit history in her name got 5k from them. Since I somehow crossed a threshold with Disco, I figured I'd try again with Apple on 11/4. Offered a SL of $750 at 23.xx%. Said no thanks.

Then, a few days later I got an EE from Transunion on the collection and my Fico 8 TU score jumped about 74 points -- 674 to 748. I'd read multiple times here that your previous offer from Apple/GS was good for 30 days and you would have to try again after that for a new offer. I think I got lucky. This was right when all the bad press was coming out on GS so I hoped maybe they'd refresh the clock for everyone. Tried again with my new TU score on Nov. 13. SL: 6.5k @ 17.74%.