Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Got Discover it Student with limited credit

tag
GandalfTheGrey

Got Discover it Student with limited credit

Hi

I am an international student (moved to the US 6 months ago) and I applied for Chase Freedom because I had a checking a/c with them for about 6 months now but got rejected (recon didn't help either) :/ . I don't have a no credit history I guess and so I was hoping to build one. Some friends got a Citi Fwd/Dividend for students approved without much credit history when they opened checking a/c at Citi. And so I was wondering if it would be worth the hard pull? Is Discover student easier? If neither, what would be a better option? Getting a secured card is the last on my plate. (if it helps - I qualified for an Amex Corporate back in India from my work).

p.s. I am 22.

EDIT: My cousin has been here for the past 7 years and he has a good credit. Should i ask him to get a cc and make me an authorized user instead? Is that helpful in building my credit? Which is a better option?

EDIT2: Got Discover it with 1k CL! Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
efranklin23
Valued Contributor

Re: Should I apply to Citi Dividend/Fwd Student Card? Rejected for Chase Freedom.

@GandalfTheGrey wrote:

Hi

I am an international student (moved to the US 6 months ago) and I applied for Chase Freedom because I had a checking a/c with them for about 6 months now but got rejected (recon didn't help either) :/ . I don't have a no credit history I guess and so I was hoping to build one. Some friends got a Citi Fwd/Dividend for students approved without much credit history when they opened checking a/c at Citi. And so I was wondering if it would be worth the hard pull? Is Discover student easier? If neither, what would be a better option? Getting a secured card is the last on my plate. (if it helps - I qualified for an Amex Corporate back in India from my work).

p.s. I am 22.