cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me understand my odds for a 0% balance transfer...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help me understand my odds for a 0% balance transfer...

Newbie here! I don't have the abbreviations down yet, but I've used the wealth of info here as a resource over the years and hope you will be willing to help me NOT waste a hard pull.

I'm paying down debt and want to lower my interest rate. I have a credit card with $7268 at 11.9% and I'd like to do a balance transfer to 0% for as long as possible, but I don't want to apply unless my odds are great. And if I should wait to apply to increase my odds, I would do that.  I'm wondering what you would do and why.

Here's my info:

TU 703/EQ 722 (Just crossed the 700 threshold on both earlier this month. I paid off some significant balances with tax refund and some other money.)

Bankruptcy (ch 7) in May 2013 and no other derogatories

Payment history 100% on time for over a decade
TU says CCV use is 22% ($7268 all on one card) - EQ says 17%

I currently have one CC with a balance, a car loan, and a mortgage.

TU says 14 total accounts (4 closed, 10 open) - EQ says 15
TU says AoA 2y11m (can't fix that now...most recent was January 2020 bank loan) - EQ says 3y11m
TU says two hard pulls: Jan 2020 and Jun 2019, both approved. - EQ says one hard pull

I refinanced three high-interest cards in January onto a secured (car) loan at 3.7%.
Remaining CC debt is at 11.99% and I'd like to get a long-term 0% (or at least a lower %) balance transfer. BT fee is fine if it is offset by interest savings over the long 0% period.

I did some research and I'm wondering if I would likely qualify for either of these cards (or NOT), or if you can recommend something similar:
- USBank Platinum - 0% for 20 billing cycles - 3% BT fee - no annual fee
- Citi Double Cash - 0% for 18 months- 3% BT fee - no annual fee (Credit Karma says I have very good approval odds?!)