Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I graduated early from Discover It secured

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I graduated early from Discover It secured

I have only seen instances of people being told by Discover that it is not possible to graduate early. That seemed to be the general consensus as far as the subject was concerned. I was even told this by Discover a couple months back when inquiring through chat.

But today I received a letter from Discover, including a check for my original deposit, stating I no longer needed to have my card secured.

I got the card in February 2016 and the graduation coincided with my 8th statement being cut (would have been my 9th but I changed my due date a while back).

It was a $200 limit and I put about $50 on it every month and paid it immediately each time, never carrying a balance.

When I received the letter and logged into my account, I saw my limit was increased to $500. I went for an increase and received $500 more, totalling a $1000 limit.

Just wanted to share this info as a data point for anyone hoping to upgrade early.
Message 1 of 29
28 REPLIES 28
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I graduated early from Discover It secured

Congrats on your early graduation! A few people have posted that Discover's policy on secured graduation has changed. They start reviewing accounts after the 7th statement I believe, and then it is possible to graduate, though not guaranteed. 

Message 2 of 29
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well add me to the list. lol. Hope to see some more graduates popping up soon. Discover made the journey to unsecured status a little less of an uphill climb, which is nice.
Message 3 of 29
Anonymous
Not applicable

Congrats. Yes, 7 mo is correct. I sent a secured message this week and was told starting month 7 they check monthly to see if they can send back the deposit.

The CLI is the part I had not heard of. That's awesome.
Congrats again.
Message 4 of 29
ddemari
Super Contributor