Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Discover It approval - $7K SL

tag
LADave
Established Contributor

New Discover It approval - $7K SL

I've been getting letters from Discover for several months now. Tonight I finally decided to give in, tempted by the 0% offer and the low APR after 15 months (15.29% - although the letter I got said 14.99%), 5% categories and double cash back at the end of the first year, and their stellar reputation for service and credit limit increases. This is my first time applying for (and getting) a card with Discover.

What finally tipped me over into applying tonight was the realization that it should soon be more difficult for me to get another card like this at a similar APR for a while, after my new auto loan with Premier America Credit Union gets picked up by the bureaus. And with the offer to get a new Premier America Mastercard on the table with the same hard pull, I'd rather get the Discover card now, before that card and the car loan show up on my reports.

This was my favorite Discover Card design by far.This was my favorite Discover Card design by far.

My Equifax file was pulled, and I honestly couldn't be more thrilled by that. My Experian file has 7 hard pulls over the last 2 years, and this is the first love my Equifax file has got in at that time. 😂 My Equifax FICO 8 was at 710 before the application.

The new Discover is now by far my highest-limit card. My two second-highest limit cards are now my Wells Fargo Active Cash and Chase Amazon Prime cards, which both have $4500 lines. My Apple Card isn't far behind at $4K.

At this point I'm now 8/24, and won't get below 5/24 until at least June 2023. I can live with that.

I wasn’t totally thrilled that the APR after the introductory period is 0.3% higher than was originally advertised to me (15.29% vs. 14.99). I’ll call Discover later this week and see if that can be brought back down.

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
CreditMagic7
Mega Contributor