Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Somehow approved for Capital One Walmart Rewards & Citi Rewards + today

tag
cr101
Established Contributor

Somehow approved for Capital One Walmart Rewards & Citi Rewards + today

TLDR: Credit improved a bit, so I went on an app spree after being declined by BoA about 2 weeks ago. On Thursday, I was approved for the following cards:

$500 Cap1 Walmart

$3600 Citi Rewards+

$1,000 Barclays

$1,000 AMEX/Delta Skymiles

declined for BBT

Lonnng, detailed version LOL

I've been doing the secured card thing for a few years. After Capital One gave me a random, big CLI last month and gave me the ability to PC one of my secured to an unsecured, I was interested in seeing if I was able to get unsecured cards with other creditors. BoA declined me for their Cash Rewards card about 2 weeks ago. Understandable. Student loans defaulted and are still on my report. I was still curious about Chase and Citi. But...I was scared of hard inquiries. Today, I got tired of thinking "could I get approved?? But, what if I'm declined and I'm stuck with hard inquiries??" and just decided to continue applying.

Today, I got $500 from C1/Walmart.

Later, I applied for Citi and Chase. I figured I'd apply for Citi first bc they had a preapproved offer for me and Chase didn't. Then, I'd try to trick Chase's 5/24 check by clicking their submit button right after clicking Citi's submit button LOL. Didn't work. Chase declined me. But, I got $3,600 for Citi's card.