cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Started my credit journey! (with Discover, AMEX, etc.) (International Student)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Started my credit journey! (with Discover, AMEX, etc.) (International Student)

Note: Long and windy post, TL;DR under. 

Context: I've been a longtime lurker of these forums, have a few older friends & my family who introduced me and taught me how important having good credit is. I recently turned 18 and I decided to start my credit journey. I'm only doing this to build my credit, anticipating needing to rent and whatnot in the future. I'm an international student but I have an SSN and have relatives in the US. I'm an AU on a few of my family member's cards (Chase and AMEX) although it was not reporting when I submitted some of my applications. I know because I have tried to pull my credit report and the system is throwing errors due to no report/history being generated. I haven't had any previous accounts/student loans. My stated income is <20k (personal, including regular expected allowance). 

I have a savings account with PenFed so I opened a Share Secured Loan for a 9-year term (I don't foresee having any installment loans in the future so I suppose this is good for credit mix). I believe I can make payments to advance the due date (I managed to advance it by one month by making an initial monthly payment) but I'm not sure if it will reset when it goes sufficiently into the future. 

In retrospect, I might have gone a bit excessive on the applications considering I have a thin history but here are my applications (in order): 

Discover it Student Cash Back, 1000 SL