cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Garden works! Approved for Chase Sapphire Preferred!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

The Garden works! Approved for Chase Sapphire Preferred!!

I've been reading the forums for a long time but this is my first time actually posting. When I started my rebuilding my score was 590. In 2014, my credit mix was:

Capital One Secured - $200
Capital One Platinum - $300
Capital One Quicksilver $300
Credit One Bank - $400
First Savings Bank - $350
1st Financial Bank (charge -off) - $2,332

I completed the credit steps program with capital which bumped me to a $600 credit lines for each card. Credit One also gave me CLIs to $600 and then to $850.

I applied for Merrick Bank card in 2015 because of the Double your Limit offer. I was approved for a $550 limit. I sped for Discover It card but was declined.

My charge-off fell off in March 2016.
Then my Merrick Credit line doubled to $1,100 in May 2016.

After reading the forums in early May, I combined the limits to my Cap One Quicksilver and Platinum for a total $1200 limit. I then closed the secured and platinum cards.

The same day I did the shopping cart trick and was approved for Victoria's Secret and Loft credit cards both with $500 limits. So no new inquiries.

This week, I received an email from Chase inviting me to apply for the Chase Sapphire preferred. I didn't think I even qualified because my credit score is only 633 and I have tons of inquiries due to purchasing a brand new car in September. Also I have a collection for a utility bill from 2013.

But I was already out of the garden big time so I figured what the heck, what's one more app. To my surprise, I was instantly approved with a 5k limit!

(Also FYI, my VS and Loft cards are not yet reporting and my new credit limits for Quicksilver One and Merrick Bank are not yet reporting.)

After 2 years of gardening and on time payments, my current mix is:

Chase Sapphire Preferred - $5,000