Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

(UPDATE SUCCESS - APPROVED!!!) CITI Pre-Qualified for Costco Anywhere Visa

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

(UPDATE SUCCESS - APPROVED!!!) CITI Pre-Qualified for Costco Anywhere Visa

Hello All, 

I am a new member but long-time reader of these forums. I was recently pre-qualified with a 17.24% variable on the pre-qual site. I have been rebuilding my credit (no derogs/lates just high uti for a long period of time - I am a medical student trying to get by). My question is, are the prequals at citi solid? periodically checked in the past with no offers available and finally got one.

Also, I know that after posting my data points I will get some solid advice about paying down my current cards, which I value and am doing. I was wondering if the prequal was solid to help expedite the process of lower total utilization while steadily making more than the minimums on existing cards and not using the new card except PIF. 

The main thing that worries me is regarding Citi itself. I have had the AAdvantage and it is by far my favortie card as I hope to use the points I have accrued to travel once Med school is over (less than a year). However, last year around this time the balance chased me with a CLD and have yet to reinstate the original balance ( I havent asked them to either as to not ruffle any feathers). No balance chasing since then and making way more than the minimum every month with high usage and steadily decreasing utilization. 

I know apping at the moment is risky, but looking for advice from the experts here. I would imagine I would be better off gardening and paying down balances, maye looking for CLI's periodically. But any strategy or advice in general for my profile would be greatly appreciated.

Some background and data points:

- Per experian app (Fico 8) as of 8/12/2019:

+ TU: 684

+ Equifax: 661

+ Experian: 656

- Total overall utilization of 40% (down from 90+% 2 months ago)