cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from American Express Optima to Platinum Charge

tag
CH03

Upgrade from American Express Optima to Platinum Charge

Has anyone done this upgrade? If so, how long did you hold the Optima card for. 

My background:

Basically, I've never used credit cards as a tool before and just paid with my debit card for everything. I opened a Capital One account in college and like an idiot after a few months of using it just forgot that there was a balance and it went into collections. Similarly, my old Amex was paid on time and in full every month for over a year when they abruptly cancelled the card. This was most likely due to the financial crisis causing a credit crunch and my propensity to run up high utlizations on the card - I'd generally spend $4k per month on a $2k limit card (I'd pay the balance multiple times during the month). After the card was cancelled, I took a rather peurile stance and ignored the balance until finally paying it off once they started calling me incessently. So here we are now. I've finally taken a mature approach to credit and want to get my scores in the 800 range. 

~ 650 Credit Scores across the board w/ 75% utilization and one collection that was just removed today due to inaccuracy (will be off reports by end of the month)

Average age of accounts is ~ 8 years

Previous CO w/ American Express Delta Gold in 2010 - Paid in Full (still showing on my CR - recently sent GW for removal)

Previous CO w/ Capital One in 2007 - Settled (still showing on my CR - recently sent GW for removal)

Income is ~$225,000

Open Accounts include:

Bank of America Platinum Plus -  $1,000 CL (~ 70% Utilization - will pay this down to 5% this month)

GERB Care Credit -  $1,000 CL (~40% Utilization - will pay this down to 0% this month)

American Express Optima -  $500 CL (0% Utilization)

Student Loan A -  $16,000

Student Loan B - $3,000