cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WF Active Cash CLI - $4,500 to $5,700 (27% increase)

tag
LADave
Established Contributor

WF Active Cash CLI - $4,500 to $5,700 (27% increase)

Nearly 3 months ago I posted about my experience requesting a CLI for my WF Active Cash card, which I was declined for. The letter I got in the mail mentioned that one of the reasons they were denying the CLI was that I hadn't been keeping enough money in my WF accounts. (There was at least one other reason, which I think was that I didn't have enough credit history with the card, even though I've been banking with them for 14 years.) Unfortunately I don't know where that letter is and I didn't find it in my online account center, so I'm not sure exactly what it said.

Since then I've been keeping a little more money than usual in my WF account. Now that I'm banking with 3 companies (WF, Chase and Capital One), that's been more challenging than it used to be. But even though I like C1 more for regular banking, WF and Chase do take my account history into account for their cards. And it became clear during my last CLI denial that my banking history with them could affect me negatively, even though (or perhaps because?) I didn't do anything to incur fees since getting the card.

That's why I added a WF saving account about a month ago to park some of my money. I even moved some of my C1 money to pad my WF accounts a little more, at least until I got approved for a CLI. I also paid the card further down over the last few months - it was around $1700 at the time I originally requested the CLI, and today it's just under $1,000. Since it's still at 0% APR through the end of the year I'm not in a hurry to pay it all off yet, but I figured it would probably help more than the extra money in my WF accounts.