cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WHEELS UP! NFCU secured nRewards VISA graduation and 2nd NFCU credit card approved!

tag
USMC_Winger
Frequent Contributor

WHEELS UP! NFCU secured nRewards VISA graduation and 2nd NFCU credit card approved!

I've been applying for many years for secured credit cards.  Denied.  Denied.  Denied.  Thin credit file.  Not enough credit history.  I've been running as fast as I can, but I just needed that little bit of elevation, and I'd get my wings airborne.  Then I can soar!

The good news is that Navy Fed approved my secured nRewards VISA card in August 2020.  I had no FICO scores, so I didn't get a CLI after three months.  I had to wait seven months for my FICO 9 scores to be calculated on my TU and EQ CRs, which were 747 and 745, respectively.  I noticed my nRewards VISA's credit limit was set at $2,000 three days after my seventh statement closing date.  My available credit remained at $1,000 (my security deposit) for another two days.  It took six days after my statement closing date for Navy Fed to release the hold on my entire security deposit.  By then it meant I definitely graduated!

From my research on this forum, I knew to apply for a second credit card at Navy Fed before requesting a CLI on my first card.  But first, I wanted to increase my Navy Fed internal score and my chances of being approved for a second credit card by getting a shares secured loan and paying it down to show that despite a very short credit history, I could responsibly manage multiple credit accounts.