Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

18 year old trying to build credit!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

18 year old trying to build credit!

Hi Guys!

I am writing to you because I turned 18 this year and since then I have been trying to build my credit as best as I can. Let me give you a little background: I am a full time student and I work part-time making about $38,500 a year. Since then I was approved for a car loan for about $18,750 about 4 months ago. Also, I was able to get the Journey CC from Capiltal one with a $300 cl about 5 months ago and just recently I was approved for the NFCU CashRewards with a $500 cl this month. Both of these credit cards are on my own name. I have been trying to do the best I can to stay under a 30% utilization and also to never carry a balance. I recently signed up'd with credit karma and credit sesame which have been of great help. I found it starnge that when I logged on credit karma I got a CS of 672, but when I logged on to credit sesame and myfico.com it said that I did not have a credit score. Do you guys know why this happened? Finally, what do you think I should do next? I am interested in the citi forward and the discover more cc for students and my goal is to get an amex green by the time I'm 21. I am not sure if I should just lay off apps for a while or keep going. What do you guys think? All advices will be very much appreciated!!! Thanks

Message 1 of 53
52 REPLIES 52
snowsurf7
Established Member

Re: 18 year old trying to build credit!

Welcome to the forums Smiley Happy! Anyway im still quite new here but ill try to help the best I can.