Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2.5 years with card, no CLI?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

2.5 years with card, no CLI?

So I applied for my first credit card at the beginning of college (Sep 08), my issuer denied me for a student card because of my "lack of a credit history" (no kidding). I waited until Septermber '09 and applied for a Discover More card when I got a mailing about it; I was approved for a $500 limit (reasonable enough as a first line of credit that's unsecured).

So when I visited my bank branch in May (this year), I was asked if I wanted to be checked for instant approval on a student card. I said why not, and I got approved for a $2,000 CL on that card.

Now, I'm fairly new to the game of credit, so I'll ask: Isn't it a bit abnormal to not have any form of CLI increase in 2.5 years of good payment? The only potentially negative thing is two hard inquiries against my credit (one from a landlord, one from Wells Fargo). When I got approved for my Wells Fargo card, I was told that they sourced my credit history from Experian and my FICO score was a 795. Now, from what I've read, it would go down a bit now that I have a new line of credit, but not dramatically.

Seems odd to me, but again - newer to credit than most, so I thought I'd get some advice here. The Discover Card offers superior cashback for groceries, gas, etc. so that would make a credit line increase more appealing to use it for everyday expenses, but the $500 credit limit restricts my ability to

Also, I want to get one more line of revolving credit (an Amex - superior benefits with 90 day accidental loss/damage coverage and extended warranty on everything bought- I'm a bit of an electronics nerd). How long should I wait before applying? A year? Less? More?

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

Re: 2.5 years with card, no CLI?