Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2 Amex Hard Pulls

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

2 Amex Hard Pulls

I will preface this story by saying I'm pretty new to the credit card game lol.

I was recently in the market for a business credit card and at the recommendation of a friend, I applied for the Amex Amazon Business Prime card. I was super happy to be approved (considering all the inquiries from a recent new mortgage.) for an $8,000 SL. I received my expected hard pull. 

Later on that day after doing some research, I saw that a lot of people apply for charge cards and Amex doesn't do a second hard pull.  So I applied for the personal Gold Card and was denied. I received another hard pull for that application. I was logged in to my account as well.

Was there a step I missed? Should I have applied for the Business Gold instead? also This is my first Amex card. 

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: 2 Amex Hard Pulls

I'm not entirely well versed in Amex's policies on HPs, but I'm thinking the 2nd HP may be a result of doing a business/personal CC application combination.

Last App: 1/10/2023
Penfed Gold Visa Card

Currently rebuilding as of 04/11/2019.

Starting FICO 8 Scores:

Current FICO 8 scores:

Message 2 of 11
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

It happens. I got a hp for my second app. Haven't had one since.

Message 3 of 11
RDO
Contributor

For me I got my amex card (delta gold) in Feb 2020 was HP

Feb 2021 amex gold SP

Mar 2021 amex BBP SP

June 2021 amex CS platinum SP

Oct 2021 amex marriot business SP

So I would say I got lucky with 4 soft pull after my first card.

Amex Gold NSPL / Amex CS Platinum NSPL /
Amex BCE $30.6k / Amex Hilton Surpass $10k /
Amex Delta Gold $9.7k / Amex BBP $6k /
Amex Bonvoy Business $10k / C1 QS $3.2k /
C1 Venture X $19.5k / C1 Kohls $5k/
Chase unlimited $4k / Chase Sapphire $21.8k /