Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

21 yr old college student needs advice on applying for additional credit card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

21 yr old college student needs advice on applying for additional credit card

I am new to this forum and hope to get some insight and advice on which card I should apply for next and how often I should apply for additional cards. I am a 21 yr old college student, I have 10K in Students loans and will graduate from IU Bloomington in May.  I currently have one CC, it is a Discover IT card that I applied for last November (2016). I was given 1000 CL I received automatic CLI of 500 in May  And requested CLI  of 500 in Aug and 1000 in Nov.   I currently have a 3K credit limit.  I would like to get another card and I am not sure which card I should request Chase, AMEX or Sallie Mae. or is there another card that would be better for me.  I would like cash back rewards. My Discover scorecard says my FICO Score is 768 from Experian Credit Karma says my Transunion is 744 and Equifax is 757. I would like to get additional cards but not sure which card to apply for next or how often to apply.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you 

Message 1 of 57
56 REPLIES 56
simplynoir
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: 21 yr old college student needs advice on applying for additional credit card

What's your normal spend look like or gonna look like once you graduate? Groceries, gas, dining, and so on. Will help a lot in steering you towards the right cards for you.

Also, if you have any family in the military I would go ahead and look into NFCU and USAA.

Message 2 of 57
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 21 yr old college student needs advice on applying for additional credit card

Thank you for responding