Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5% categories on non-5% quarters?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

5% categories on non-5% quarters?

I don't have a 5% category card yet, so I have no experience with them.  I'm a cashback fiend, though, but only on regular spend, meaning I don't buy something just because I happen to have a cashback card that might give me 3 cents for every buck I spend.

My questions are in green below if you want to skip all the text.

My current spending laminate in my wallet lists these:

• GROCERIES: Amex BCP (6%), USBank Cash+ (2%)
  • GAS: Discover (4%), Amex BCP (3%)
  • RESTAURANT: Discover (4%)
  • AMAZON: Amazon SC (5%)
  • DEPT STORES, FASHION: US Bank (5%) -- switching this to DEPT STORES, TRANSPORTATION next quarter if they're available
  • EVERYTHING ELSE: Discover (2%)

Every month I reprint a new laminate for the wallet in case something changed -- for example, Discover will stop offering me double cashback after February 2018 so it will stop being the useful card it was.

Next year I likely will aim for some of the 5% category cards (namely, Discover and Chase Freedom).  Some of those categories overlap current cards but might be better, such as Amazon 5% categories on a card with an extended warranty versus the store card's 5% with no extended warranty.  

The categories I'm seeing are:

• Gas, Local Commuter, Transportation
  • Grocery Stores, Drugstores
  • Restaurants, Movie Theaters
  • Department Stores
  • Wholesale Clubs
  • Amazon or Walmart specifically
  • Home Improvement

Am I missing any possible 5% categories here?