Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Change in CC Conventional Wisdom?

tag
Lucid08
Regular Contributor

A Change in CC Conventional Wisdom?

I've been a member of this site since beginning my credit building journey in late 2007, and since then I have made great strides in establishing my credit file and score. This includes getting 3 credit cards with what I consider conservative credit limits when compared to my income.

Due to being a veteran I've recently began checking into using my VA benefit to take advantage of the current housing market/prices. I was directed to the VA loans website and came across a .pdf file  labled "VA Home Loans 101" which details what a person needs to do in order to qualify for a VA backed loan.(didnt post the link because I'm not sure about the rules for doing so, so I'm quoting directly from the .pdf file)

On page 7 of the .pdf file it states:

"One important factor many people aren’t aware of is how lines of credit affect your chances at getting a loan. Let’s use John Smith as our example. John has four credit cards with a $5,000 credit limit on each card. John carries a zero balance on three of the four cards, and carries a monthly balance of $800 on the fourth card. He pays his bills on time and is a good credit risk.

There’s just one problem. John has a potential debt of $19,200. He could max out his credit cards at any time for a total debt of $20,000. This potential can affect his creditworthiness. A good financial advisor will tell you to limit your potential debt as much as possible by getting rid of unused lines of credit, paying off cards and canceling them, keeping only the essentials."