Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Blue & Green.. backdating & PC?

tag
minion27
Established Member

AMEX Blue & Green.. backdating & PC?

Hi all! This is my first time posting but have been reading this forums *a lot* the past couple of months. Anyway I have a couple of questions about AMEX.. I'll give a little bit of background first.

Back in 2005 I had a secured Bofa card with $500 limit ..later closed that account and apped for Citi & AMEX cc. I was approved for both with about $2000 limit. Soon after I got married & we put a lot on both cards with moving expenses. About the end of 2006, I started nursing school & quit my job so wasn't able to pay for my cc bills. I honestly didn't really think (stupid) about the consequences of allowing them to default. Both of them went to collections Smiley Sad 

Since then, I reopened a secured bofa card with $300 in 2011 and both of the cc collections have dropped off of my report (unpaid) and my credit score shot back up. My bofa card graduated to unsecured & in 11/2013 they gave me a CLI to $1000 (not auto, I had to call in and request it). I PC'd to the Cash rewards that same month and they gave another CLI to $2500. Then I was approved for discover, chase freedom & slate (in december). I was extremely happy with the AMEX I had before so I REALLY wanted to get another AMEX. Well I app'd for the Green charge card tonight (since it seems as though it's easier to get approved for charge cards) and was approved! I was ecstatic that I was back with the AMEX family. And I was tempted to app for the Blue (not BCE) and it was another approval! yay! I don't know what the CL is yet..

On to my questions:

* Would I be able to PC to BCE? and when would be the best time to do it? since I think I would utilize that type of card better

* Do you think it would be a risk to try to backdate the card? (the old account I had with them was an unpaid collection of about $1500?)