Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX/CHASE - Apply or wait

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

AMEX/CHASE - Apply or wait

First, Id like to say thank you to all who have contributed on these forums.

Ive been gardening since January 2016, which i know isnt that long, but ive got the itch again so i thought id reach out for some help. Ive apped for AMEX before and have been denied for low credit score, too many recent inquiries, lack of credit history.

My question is:

Should I wait it out and garden a bit longer or should I give it a try? 

What is a good starter card for AMEX?

Approval Odds?

When will the inquiries not affect my chances of approval? i know they stay on CR for 2 years and they dont affect score after 1 yr. But ive heard some people say 6 months? 

If anyone could please shed some light on Chase 5/24 Rule, does this rule apply to 5 Chase/Chase branded cards or ANY credit cards from any banks? 

FICO Score 8: 716(TU), 675(EX), 707(EQ) 

Util is 14%

AAoA: 2 years

Payment History: 98.5% - 1 30 day late payment in 2014 on a card that i am an AU 

Derogatory Marks: 0

Total Accounts: 15

Hard Inquiries: 30 

IF anyone wants to read, here is some quick history: 

24 yr old medical student with $65k annual income 

I recently got into the whole credit card obsession back in Oct 2015. Prior to that my oldest credit cards were 16 years old (CITI MC) and 4 years old (Cap1 Platinum MC) both of which I am just an AU. In oct 2015, I was approved for Cap1 QSone as a primary cardholder for $300 (now $800). Just the fact that i was approved was an amazing feeling. So I applied for the Cap1 Journey and was approved for $500 (now $1500).