cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX Questions

tag
PaHi

AMEX Questions

So, I went ahead and opened a Platinum AMEX--now I'm so confused. It doesn't have a limit and I'm always afraid to use it, because I never know if "this will be the time I've hit my limit!" lol Is there some secret way to stay ahead of your denials? (other than checking that silly spending power button)...

Also; I would rather have an AMEX WITH A LIMIT! Can I open one now? Or must I wait X amount of weeks/months due to just opening this AMEX?

Note: This is my first card with AMEX. So I'm new with them.

I've been paying the balance the MOMENT one posts. I've already paid about $2,000 in just 4 days. So hopefully that helps...

Also; They said my POT limit is $6,000--1) How do I use it? 2) Does it report to the CB's with a limit & balance? 3) Does it raise periodically?

Thank you!!!

As a side note: I opened a Citi Diamond Card & a 2nd Disco card, too. Regret even opening them! Citi gave me $500 and Disco gave me $2,000... Now I'm debating if I want to battle getting them up to normal limits, or just immediately close them out... Any thoughts? Any suggestions on how to get them QUICKLY to useable limits? Especially that $500 Citi Diamond... How soon can I request a CLI on it?

Thanks again!

14 REPLIES 14
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: AMEX Questions

Your POT would be your safe limit. Any charges over $100 are applied to that limit. You can choose to PIF or the adjusted balance which would lead to interest charges. You can also set up payment plans for charges in the POT with a fixed fee, for a specific amount of time. Anything above your POT limit, and any charges below $100 are due in full on your due date. So as of right now, you should be able to spend at least 6000 with no issue. 

Message 2 of 15
K-in-Boston
Credit Mentor