Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX charge card Approval Odds?

tag
rookie5

AMEX charge card Approval Odds?

Hello all,

I have been a long time lurker, and I have gleaned an extensive amount of very helpful information from the forum for which I am very appreciative.  I have finally decided to reach out and seek everyone's advice/opinions, as I plan to apply for new card once my reports are updated with my current credit utilization.  Ideally, I'd like to apply for the AMEX PRG.  I currently only have one credit card with a fairly low limit that was issued by Regions Bank, which is why I'd like to add a card with higher limits and a better rewards program.  Please provide any thoughts on my chances of approval for an AMEX PRG, advice on managing my credit to obtain a PRG card, and suggest other rewards cards that may fit my profile.

First, I'll provide a little background information about myself.  I'm a recent law school graduate and have racked up significant student debt.  After taking the bar in July, I began working at a large firm, which requires significant travel, expenses for which the firm reimburses bi-monthly.  Outside of the employment travel expenses, the card will be used for nearly all of my other purchases, which besides groceries, gas, dining, and bills, often includes relatively significant expenses on entertainment and leisure travel. 

Next, is my credit profile and FAKO scores.  At this time, I cannot provide a FICO score, as I've held off on paying for the FICO score because I just paid off my Regions CC that was near the limit last month.  I plan on paying for an Experian FICO score as soon as the report reflects my currect utilization, which should be just after Novemeber 4, and I'll update this thread if needed once I have the FICO score.