cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AMEX gold card pre-approved *UPDATE*

Contributor

AMEX gold card pre-approved *UPDATE*

Hello,

So I got a letter from AMEX saying that I was pre-approved for AMEX GC. I am a noob when it comes to CCs, but I really want to get into AMEX family. Is GC a good start? I think fees are a bit high though

I checked their pre-approval site and I am pre-approved for GC, Cash magnet and everyday. WHat card should I app for? Any idea on how generous AMEX are with their SLs? I really don't want another slow moving card. If I get a lower SL, can I ask them to reconsider? What FICO score and CBAs AMEX pull from?

I really need a good SL credit card since I am getting married pretty soon. Any other cards you suggest?

My profile:

EX: 698

TU: 690

EQ: 691

AAoA 4 years

3 enquiries on EX, 0 TU, 1 EQ

BofA - $7900 limit

Cap1 Plat - $3850

Cap1 QS - $3500

Student loan - $11698 remaining

1 Citibank charge off - over 2 years ago

3 30 days late BofA - over 3 years ago

Income - $90000

*UPDATE*

https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Credit-Card-Approvals/Amex-Everyday-and-Venture-approved-today/m-p/...

7 REPLIES
Frequent Contributor

Re: AMEX gold card pre-approved

Amex will pull Experian.  Their credit cards have the potential for large and quick growth but not every person will experience that.  Don't apply just to get a card.  Get something you will use depending on your personal lifestyle.

FICO 8
Message 2 of 8
Frequent Contributor

If it doesnt make sense to you don’t get it because it makes sense to others....Do the point earning category and perks make it worth it to you? If not then stay away because the annual fee will bother you every year....
Current:

Wanted: No Rush
Message 3 of 8
Valued Contributor

Congratulations in your pre-qualification.