cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice needed. Citi CLI with high balance possible?

tag
babymixer
Regular Contributor

Advice needed. Citi CLI with high balance possible?

I'm fairly new to the credit game.  I have a Citi Diamond Preferred with a $4700 limit on it.  I had to buy something urgently on it which pushed up my balance to almost 80% of my CL.  I've never been late with any payment and often pay off more than is requested.  I've had this card since January and was considering asking for a CLI since I've passed the 6 month mark.  With my balance that high, it's affecting my scores and I would like to even it out some.

It would probably take me 4 months to clear the balance.  Now my question is this. Should I wait before asking for the CLI or should I pull the trigger as I've never been late with a payment.  Oh, I also received this card with the 0%APR for 18 months, BT offer on it.

What do you credit whizzes think?

cc's copy
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
rudy0720
Regular Contributor

Re: Advice needed. Citi CLI with high balance possible?

I have a Citi simplicity card since Feb. Hit the luv button on Citi today one day after 6th statement cut. Went from $6200 to $12200 with about 60% UTL.  Got 30 minute message but approved in 5 mins

Citi Thank You Premier Visa Signature-$9K, Citi Thank You Preferred Vis Signature-$8.3K, Citi AA Signature- 8.5K, Citi Simplicity 9.2K, Citi Diamond-6.1K, Lowes-$10K, Chase Sapphire Preferred- $ 5K, AMEX BCE $14.5K, AMEX Starwood Preferred $15K, ,AMEX Everyday-$5K, Fidelity Amex-$10K, US Bank 123 rewards Kroger-$17K, Penfed Platinum Rewards Visa Signature-$30K, Amex Delta-$10K, Barclay Arrival Plus- $10K, Penfed Travel Rewards Amex-$10K, Bank of America Cash Rewards- $14K
Message 2 of 7
stone
Regular Contributor

@rudy0720 wrote: