Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aftermath of cc application spree

tag
ccaddict
Regular Contributor

Aftermath of cc application spree

I'm a student and have a BoA cc 1000 CLI for 3 months now (util 30-45%, always pif).

I read somewhere that one should have 4-5 cards with low util for a decent period of time to have a good score. So I went on a cc application spree some 2-3 weeks back. Applied for Amazon, Chase, Wamu, Wells Fargo, Orchard, Provident CU cards.

Got accepted on

Amazon (didn't know it was a chase card till after i applied for another chase card) 300 cli

Wells Fargo 800 cli

Provident CU 500 cli

Orchard reviewing application for secured.

Got denied for the 2nd chase Wamu denied me online for their card. So I went to the branch in a week to ask if they have a student or secured card for which i might have had a better chance. All went well for the secured .. until I was told they used something called CHexSystems which shows I have more than 4 inquiries in the past 30-60 days.

Okay so here's my question.. Do I send them a recon letter? After reading about recon in the forums I got the feeling that .. it is just for when getting denied after applying online. Since I went to the branch and had a human do my application.. would recon be of any use?

My aim is to get as high a score I can in the next 1.5 ~ 2 years so that I can look at getting me a mortgage loan. So I don't care about paying a fee for the secured ones as well.

ps edited to insert breaks

Message Edited by ccaddict on 07-22-2007 10:07 AM
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Aftermath of cc application spree

Wife and I have recently finished up our app spree, and now all we need to do is let time ttake its course... Smiley Happy Seems kind of boring after you're done eh?

Itwas an exciting time, and even though it lasted just about a month or  two, I know it will be the building blocks for the next several years of our lives.

Good luck.