Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

American Express

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

American Express

Hey All,

I'm new to the FICO management process, so pardon me if I'm sharing something you have learned already.  

I ran my first credit report the other day and noticed that my FICO score was 734. In the report, they said I ranked "very good" on all weightings except for "amount of debt" which they graded as "not good." This was causing my FICO to fall below the 760+ that seems to be the category we are all striving for.

I was curious why I was getting dinged for "too much debt" when I don't have a lot of debt. What I learned was that FICO was dinging me for my American Express card. The problem is twofold. First, American Express doesn't report a "limit" (since technically it is a charge card and not a credit card) so FICO is taking my highest monthly balance, which is $7,500, and recording that as my limit. Second, FICO captures my monthly data on the 4th of every month, so whatever balance I have on my AMEX on the fourth is reported as my monthly debt load. The problem I am running into is I pay my card off in full every month, but usually a little after the 4th. This means that on the 4th I have nearly a full month of charges weighted against my "limit" of $7500. I typically charge 4-7K per month on my card largely because I put my business expenses on the card and my company reimburses me, and just because I like the convenience of the card and tend to pay for everthing on it. This is causing  me to run at 80+% of my "limit". If I simply adjusted the timing of my payments to American Express so I do it before the 4th, my utilization would fall way down and my FICO would be helped.