Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Gold approval odds

tag
Rex95
New Contributor

Amex Gold approval odds

I'm new to myFICO, so hopefully this is posted in the correct place. I'm considering applying for an Amex Gold, but wanted to get some input beforehand. I'm a  graduate student and I make $40k per year. I've had a Chase Freedom Unlimited for 5 years, a Barclays Apple Rewards card for 5 years, a Paypal Credit line for 3 years, an Amazon Store card which was closed by the creditor in 2016, and I'm an AU on someone's Chase Sapphire Preferred. Utilization is no more than 15% on any card. My only concern is that I have 5 late payments (all paid) that occurred after a lay-off at the end of 2015. 4 of them are 30 days (amazon store card) and one is 60 days (Barclays). They are all old since they occurred about 5 years ago. Zero negatives on my report since then. Experian is currently 739. What should my course of action be?

Scores - EX: 808, TU: 803, EQ: 806
Chase Sapphire Preferred - $15,000
United Quest - $15,000
United Gateway - $7,600
Amex Gold - $18,300 POT
Amex BCE - $20,200
Amex/Schwab Investor Card - $11,500
PayPal Credit - $2,500
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
rostrow416
Established Contributor

Re: Amex Gold approval odds

Check for a pre-approval on the Amex site, it's usually pretty accurate.  But based on the info you provided, it shouldn't be a problem getting approved.

AMEX Gold | Purdue FCU $20,000 | FNBO Evergreen $15,000 | TFCU Plat Visa $15,000 | PenFed Platinum Rewards $15,000 | PenFed Pathfinder $15,000 | Citizen's Bank Cash Back+ $15,000 | Synchrony Premier MC $10,000 | SG Visa $10,000 | NFCU MoreRewards $7,000 | NFCU cashRewards $17,000 | Discover IT $6,000 | Capital One BuyPower $950 | AMEX BCP $5,000 | AMEX Amazon Prime Business $3,000