Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex MR point experts, your advice sought

tag
KJinNC
Valued Contributor

Amex MR point experts, your advice sought

I am new to MR points. Actually, I am new to credit cards in general. Always been a "if I can't pay with cash, I don't need it" type. Just started consciously building credit in March of this year.

I have a Gold Card, just got my SUB, and have a little over 52k points on it.

I have no loyalty program memberships and no specific preferences on things like airlines and hotels.

I am about to plan a trip to Europe. Details are still in flux, but something like: trip for two, to Vienna or Frankfurt, September or October (or if timing doesn't work, it might slip to spring).

Based on my research so far, I am thinking I should buy tickets wherever they're cheapest, and use the MR points for hotels. Is that a good plan? Do MR points go further with Hilton or Marriott? Again, I have no brand preference. Marriott seems more straightforward to price out with points.

I am a bit confused about situations where there are several points systems that work for overlapping airlines, and since I am not a member of any of those programs, I sometimes hit a wall trying to find actual prices. I will see a price range, but when I try to see the specific point cost, I sometimes am prompted for login info I don't have yet. Not sure if I should go ahead and sign up for eight or ten programs just to check prices.

I'm a fish out of water and I know that this is second nature for a lot of people here, so hoping somebody can give me a head start. Thanks!

FICO Resilience Index: 64. Cards: 5/24, 2/12, 2/6. Accounts including loans: 8/24, 4/12, 3/6. Card CLs total $213,900, or $240,400 including the AU card. Cards (oldest to newest)

Authorized user / Corporate / Auto loans / Personal loan
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
K-in-Boston
Credit Mentor

Re: Amex MR point experts, your advice sought