Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex New App after Recent CLI

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex New App after Recent CLI

Hello everyone, I've been a lurker for a while and learned a lot of stuff in this amazing community. This is my first time posting and I have a question about something I couldn't find the answer for in the old topics.

I have an Amex BCE card at 34.5K which I requested a CLI for 45K and got approved a few days ago. My question is, is that going to affect their decision in a separate application I may end up submitting for Amex Gold (already pre-approved) and also on its SL?

I'm planning to apply for this new account to increase my total number of accounts, sign-up bonus etc. but most importantly the SL is very important to me because I'd like to hit the 3x req two months from now so I'd like to know my odds.

Score: 790-800 for all three and FICO

Total of 6 accounts; 5 CCs and one car lease ending in 6 months

AAoA: 3.5 years

0 HPs

Appreciate your input!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Amex New App after Recent CLI

Amex Gold is a charge card with NPSL 

You can't CLI it

You may request a CLI on a revolving card 6 months after a previously successful CLI

Message 2 of 8
805orbust
Valued Contributor

+1 Amex Gold doesn't even show on your credit report with a limit, just the balance is reported.

Message 3 of 8
UpperNwGuy
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I have an Amex BCE card at 34.5K which I requested a CLI for 45K and got approved a few days ago.

Why do you need a credit limit of $45,000 on a card that only gives meaningful rewards at supermarkets? Do you have a huge family and buy an extraordinary amount of groceries each month?  But even if that were the case, Amex limits the 3% rewards to $6000 of spending each year.  Seems to me like you wasted a CLI on the BCE.

Daily Carry: PenFed Power Cash • NFCU Flagship • NFCU More Rewards • Chase Freedom