cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Plan it Question

Regular Contributor

Amex Plan it Question

I have a rather large expense i want to put on one of my promo interest free cards. If I use the plan it feature does anyone know if it would post the adjusted balance to the credit bureaus or the total amount financed. I know its still 0% anyway, and if i "plan it" while on the promo time there are no fees but im tring to save a hit on reported utilization. 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES
Regular Contributor

Re: Amex Plan it Question

@RebuildingIsHard wrote:

I have a rather large expense i want to put on one of my promo interest free cards. If I use the plan it feature does anyone know if it would post the adjusted balance to the credit bureaus or the total amount financed. I know its still 0% anyway, and if i "plan it" while on the promo time there are no fees but im tring to save a hit on reported utilization. 

I'm no expert, but it's still a purchase you used against your available credit limit = "UTI".

Cap1 QS | Citi AA | Citi Costco | Chase Freedom | PenFed PCR | AMEX GC (35K POT) | NFCU Plat | WF Propel | BofA CR | Lowe's |
RIP: EECU PLOC | BBVA PLOC | Chase SP | Chase Amazon |
Message 2 of 7

Would be total charge as plan-it is just an agreement with AMEX to pay X amt over a given time.

Chase | Citibank | Amex | BofA | PenFed | NFCU | Discover | Barclay's | Fifth Third Bank | FNBO | BB&T
Message 3 of 7
Highlighted
Regular Contributor

That’s what I thought. Thanks. It looks like my wife already tried and used the plan it feature. Her statement cut today and it just has an adjusted balance so far. While I know it counts towards available credit, if it does only report the “adjusted” balance maybe it won’t impact total utilization. I’ll keep u guys posted. It hasn’t shown up on her credit report yet.
Message 4 of 7
Community Leader
Valued Contributor