cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Platinum $500,000+ in spending.

tag
fltireguy
Valued Contributor

Re: Amex Platinum $500,000+ in spending.

I'd think the Platinum is probably still the best deal in your case... Also, I would imagine that Customer Service with your level of spend would be top notch as well... 

You should call when the AF is due and tell them you are thinking of cancelling.. wonder what type of retention bonus you could end up with?

NFCU $60.4k/PenFed $22.5k/Commerce $15K/53 $11K/Synovus $14K/BBT $11K/CapOne $12K/DCU $7.5K/BMO $7.5K/Chase $14.5k/Cabelas $10K/ and many many more!
Total CL $398600, plus car and RV loan.
Ooh. Ooh. Getting closer to that $500K mark!
Message 11 of 43
Anonymous
Not applicable

I think it is the best option, however I'm new to this cc and working on repairing after my divorce. I know there is a wealth of knowledge out there so I figured I would ask around. I think if I can improve my scores the invitation would come. I love the perks of the Platinum and I've even managed to use the $300 credit for private jets on a leg from Phoenix to Las Vegas. Which I ended up paying out of pocket $17 since I used points to cover the charge. I really love the card. I do feal that CS has better partners.
Message 12 of 43
Anonymous
Not applicable

I assume you get it all back in benefits. You would have to research exactly how so, but that card is like the Holy Grail of credit cards. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

If this spend is all in flights, why don't you use EDP or PRG for dining/gas/groceries for more points. Is it possible to transfer points from other accounts? I would focus on most points instead of spending it all on one card. 

Message 13 of 43
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

I assume you get it all back in benefits. You would have to research exactly how so, but that card is like the Holy Grail of credit cards. Someone correct me if I am wrong.