Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Annual fees

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Annual fees

Just a quick question as I am new to this scene. Is it normal to see an annual fee be broken into monthly fees, particularly closed accounts with a balance?
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
happypill
Valued Contributor

Re: Annual fees

Sounds like something a subprime lender like Credit One would do.  They'll maximize fees any way that they can and continue beating a horse even after it's dead (as in collecting fees on a closed account with a balance).

To further answer your question, most lenders do not collect AF on a monthly basis, and some will even refund or pro-rate if you close your account.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I see. Thank you for answering. I am going through this with Credit One now, is why I asked. I'm considering requesting they waive the fee but not sure if I have a leg to stand on considering I am past due on payments and not in good standing with them
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have never seen a legit lender split fees monthly.
Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I too thought this was strange. I will have to call them
Message 5 of 9
wasCB14
Super Contributor

First Premier (another piece of subprime garbage) does it, too.

Personal spend: Amex Gold, Amex Schwab Plat., BofA PR+CCR(x2), Costco
Business use: Amex Bus. Plat., BBP, Lowes Amex AU, CFU AU
Perks: Delta Plat., United Explorer, IHG49, Hyatt, "Old SPG"
Mostly SD: Freedom Flex, Freedom, Arrival
Upgrade/Downgrade games: ED, BCE
SUB chasing: AA Platinum Select
Message 6 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

If your late on payment with credit one a rebuilder card you need to ask yourself what your doing wrong. Nothing personal or judging you but, you obviously have some issues with using cc properly.
Message 7 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes, that is why I am asking questions
Message 8 of 9
FroggieMom
Regular Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: