Did you mean: 

Another Discover Graduation Party! 🥳💃🏽

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Another Discover Graduation Party! 🥳💃🏽

I'm a graduate 👩🏽‍🎓!
7 Statements and 1 Day.

Here's another Disco-graduation story for anyone keeping track.
It 'twas a Dark and Scary credit report...🧟‍♀️

Okay, seriously:

Got secured Discover in October. My TransUnion was 589 😱. By November my score was a 610. Today it's 725.
Currently I'm sitting with a clean file. No derogatories, no lates.
I did add several cards.
My scores were really low because I had zero cards and 4 lates on my student loans and 2 other baddies. No other credit. Thin and anemic. 🤒
I was able to clean up the baddies and fixed the lates (they should have been in Forbearance but it had never been applied).
7th statement cut Monday and last night (Tuesday) around 22:40, checked and saw that I had a credit increase.
My original deposit was $200 and I never added to it. After reading others experiences, I surmised that it didn't matter as much as usage and payment history.
Discover gave me a $2,300 increase bringing me to $2,500. 😁
I still have not received an email or letter but I'm assuming an email should be forthcoming.
Heavy usage off and on. Almost always PIF'd. Tried to leave no more than $4 before statement cut, except this last one.
$2,500 isn't a grand amount but it IS unsecured. I'm pretty happy to have a Big Girl's Card with Discover.
I don't think that I need it but would really like to know how soon I can request a CLI post-graduation. Anyone?
31 REPLIES 31
Remedios
Credit Mentor

Re: Another Discover Graduation Party! 🥳💃🏽

Congrats on your graduation 

As far as CLI goes, seeing how they just gave you a sizable one, I'd wait 90 days at least 

It's a SP though, so you can try whenever 

Message 2 of 32
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks. I was thinking 90 days. That works.
Message 3 of 32
GApeachy
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: