Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone close a Sears card recently?

tag
Yankee2
Regular Contributor

Anyone close a Sears card recently?

I closed my Sears card that I opened in 1999 due to no stores around anymore and wasn't comfortable where that account would go after the bankruptcy.

I'm fairly new to knowing how credit and credit score really works. I just assumed you pay your bills on time and your fine....

Well recently I downloaded my credit report (first time ever) and I was shocked to see that the Sears card I just closed in December wasn't on the TU report... It was more than just a store card, it was a Mastercard that I could use anywhere...

I then downloaded the EX report and it showed the card was closed in 2007 and last report was 2013....

I've had been using the card all the way up to Dec of 2018... There was a few years I didn't use the card, but I never had it not work when I did use it...

Anyone else close a Sears card recently? 

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Anyone close a Sears card recently?

Not yet. There is still one remaining store left in our area (and I'm sure its days are numbered), but even without it, I receive several promotional offers on the card + Thank You points are still of good value IME with the card vs. SYW.
Message 2 of 9
Aim_High
Super Contributor

@Yankee2 wrote:

I closed my Sears card that I opened in 1999 due to no stores around anymore and wasn't comfortable where that account would go after the bankruptcy.

I'm fairly new to knowing how credit and credit score really works. I just assumed you pay your bills on time and your fine....

Well recently I downloaded my credit report (first time ever) and I was shocked to see that the Sears card I just closed in December wasn't on the TU report... It was more than just a store card, it was a Mastercard that I could use anywhere...