cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying for new cards to decrease util rather than paying down?

tag
JoshSF

Applying for new cards to decrease util rather than paying down?

I'm new to taking this much interest in credit cards, as I'm not used to having good credit. Over a decade ago I had to negotiate payoffs with the credit cards I had, and I've avoided them since. I only started using one after getting the Barclay Apple rewards card to buy a new laptop. Having paid that off within the 0% promotional period, I started using it for monthly expenses to rack up Apple gift cards. 

That got me interested in what else was out there. Now I have my eye on a Chase Sapphire Reserve, but I just put a $2k expense on there that will take me a while to pay down. It puts my utilization at ~24%. 

Looking around for other useful cards, it occurs to me, instead of waiting until I pay off the Barclay card, what about applying for another card before applying for the CSR? That would decrease my utilization. Pros/cons? Best cards to do this with? The Amazon Prime Store Card is something I would actually find useful. Still researching options.  

7/17: EX 750, TU 741, EQ 716
AAoA = 12.7yrs (Exp), 13.6 years (TU/Eq)

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

Re: Applying for new cards to decrease util rather than paying down?

@JoshSF wrote:

I'm new to taking this much interest in credit cards, as I'm not used to having good credit. Over a decade ago I had to negotiate payoffs with the credit cards I had, and I've avoided them since. I only started using one after getting the Barclay Apple rewards card to buy a new laptop. Having paid that off within the 0% promotional period, I started using it for monthly expenses to rack up Apple gift cards. 

That is a very bad idea; using a card to get rewards only pays off if you pay your account in full every month. If you're paying interest, that outweighs any 'rewards'.