Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BCE/BCP rewards being limiting?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

BCE/BCP rewards being limiting?

Hey Y'all,

I have been gardening for about 8 months and will be looking to apply for a BCP at the end of Jan of 2013, mainly waiting for my inquiries to drop off. I was just browsing the AMEX site and there seems to be 'reviews' for the BCE/BCP. This is surprising because about a week or two ago there were no reviews for both cards. Well, my curiosity got the best of me and I began to read a few, but the more I read the less appealing the BCP looked.

It seems that some card members are stating that there are limits to the rewards you can receive, some stating that only $6,000 will be applied for the 6% groceries cash back bonus. After reading the above I began to panic, my dream card was slowly being knocked down off its pedestal. I was under the impression that there is an unlimited cash back on the BCP. One hour later, with the help of Google, I was still unable to find a definite answer to whether or not there is a limit to the BCE/BCP.

So I ask all the sages of myFICO for assistance in this rather unfortunate predicament....

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
OptimasPrime
Frequent Contributor

Re: BCE/BCP rewards being limiting?

Its true. The first 6,000 in groceries on the bcp earn 6%, but all grocery purchases thereafter earn only 1%.

The same cap is in place for the bce as well- 3% on the first 6k and 1 % thereafter

This was never the case before but was implemented within the last month or so

Just wanted to add- I got a notice with my last statement that said the changes would take effect on January 15th,2013

EQ 778 | TU 776
Barclay US Airways WMC 7.5k | BCE 5.8k | BofA Travel Rewards 9.1k | Chase Marriott Premier 13k | Citi TYP WMC 6.5k | Freedom Visa Sig 8k| Discover it 10k
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable