Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BOA cc going to 27.74%!! Help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

BOA cc going to 27.74%!! Help!

Newbie here...

Just received a letter in the mail from Bank of America saying my cc rate is going up to 27.74%!!!  I am livid.  It use to be around 12% which was doable, but has progressively gone up to the current 16.99% now.  

Called back door number only to be told that my utilization rate too high, I don't make enough $$ and only option was to accept it or opt out.  I am afraid to opt out if they close the account, even though they said it would not close it. 

BOA avail credit $8500, balance $7662 (16.99%).  Have another cc avail credit $5400, balance $4300 (19.99%).  I have always tried to pay more to the higher percentage rated card, but that keeps flip flopping.

I am a stay at home mom that is also self employed working part time.  I pay approx $300-500/mo towards the credit cards.

I have $2200 in savings that I have been working on in case of emergency.

Starting in December, I stopped using credit except for minor purchases to keep it open.  Was working towards lowering balances, improving the ratio, and improving my credit score (702 in beginning of Jan).   This is a slap in the face!

So my questions are:

1.  Do I opt out and worry about the possible closed card later?

2.  Do I try to get a loan to consolidate even though the chances are nil since I do not make enough?

3.  Do I use my savings (took a year to get to this) to pay down the cc?

So overwhelmed.  Appreciate your input in advance!!  

PS. cc's are my sole responsibility, as my husbands check is stretched to limit.  He is also maxed out loan wise with house, cars, etc.  Things are tight!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: BOA cc going to 27.74%!! Help!

In this economy I would not touch those savings!  Honestly , whose to say they won't balance chase you once you begin paying off large chunks.
Message 2 of 7
Romeoo47
Regular Contributor