Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Being asked by Amex for tax return?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Being asked by Amex for tax return?

Actually I studied this for several hours last night. There's something called "First-sale doctrine", and generally speaking, the merchant's T&C restricting the resale of their merchandise is not legally enforceable. Unless it's something about books or CDs, in which case the situation will be more complicated and there are several lawsuits going on as the previous member had mentioned above. 

Of course, I will consult with my lawyer before I really plunge into this business.

Message 31 of 41
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Actually I studied this for several hours last night. There's something called "First-sale doctrine", and generally speaking, the merchant's T&C restricting the resale of their merchandise is not legally enforceable. Unless it's something about books or CDs, in which case the situation will be more complicated and there are several lawsuits going on as the previous member had mentioned above. 

Of course, I will consult with my lawyer before I really plunge into this business.

First sale doctrine only applies to goods that are manufactured and sold in US. Cases mentioned by previous member are when someone sold foreign good to US. Supreme Court has ruled that first sale doctrine does NOT apply to foreign good.

The kid that was mentioned sold books from Thailand to US. Does not get protection from first sale doctrine.

Costco got sued for selling watches originally from Switzerland. 9th Circuit Court hold Costco liable because watches were not manufactured in US, and Supreme Court affirmed the decision.

Message 32 of 41
AvaMommy
Frequent Contributor

@webhopper wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

Open a business credit card next time

Un wise. We don't even know what he is selling to the Chinese at a profit.

+1

Starting Score: FAKO: TU 602 EQ 550 EX 565 - 08|2012