Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best American Express Travel Card?

tag
grigorexxxcore
Regular Contributor

Best American Express Travel Card?

I have yet to apply for a card that offers travel rewards. If approved, I would use it for everyday purchases, gas, shopping, etc...

I would LOVE a card that would offer plane ticket/hotel discounts, or do they all do that? I'm very new to the rewards offered by travel cards.

I enjoy American Express a lot, which is why I prefer to lean towards a lender I am comfortable with.

Which AmEx Travel card do you guys reccomend? I really don't mind any AF.

1. Starwood (I've stayed at Starwood hotels before)

2. Hilton

3. Delta Gold vs Platinum

4. BlueCash

Thanks for your guys' help!

Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Open123
Super Contributor

Re: Best American Express Travel Card?

With everyday purchases, the Hilton card offers the most value "dollar for dollar" if you don't mind your rewards limited to the stay at their hotels and resorts.  It has no annual fee, and many everday purchases are calcuated at 6X the points.

If you plan to spend greater than 20k, then I think the SPG is an excellent hotel rewards card.  In my view, SPG has by far the best hotel rewards in the industry.  You're free to move points to many airlines with very favorable ratios.  The sign up bonus isn't bad either.

I think those two are your best options.  Personally, I like the SPG the best.

Message 2 of 20
Guava
Established Contributor

AMEX Starwood. It's not only the best AMEX travel card, it's the best travel card all around.

Starting Score (08/11/11): TU08: 643
Current Score: TU08: 741
Goal Score: Stay in the 700s; keep reports clean

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 3 of 20
anderl
Frequent Contributor

+1