Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best card for clothes shopping

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best card for clothes shopping

I'm a recent college grad (22 y/o) starting a job that requires slacks and a button down at the minumum in August (financial district in San Francisco). My entire wardrobe was in pretty bad shape from my college frat boy years and a lot of it doesn't even fit anymore (dropped from a 34 waist to a 32 waist), so in the last few months I've probably spent around 2k entirely on clothes for my job and other accesories. I've gotten new shoes, dress boots for rain, long sleeve button downs, slacks, dress pants, sport coats, rain coat, belts, messenger bag, the works. I've gotten most of it heavily discounted (I look for for 40%+ off) at outlet stores but it still comes out to a lot overall. I've put most of this either on my Amex Gold or my CFU as those are my daily driver cards but I've been left wondering if there would have been a better option in terms of rewards on these purchases.

Any thoughts? Thanks.

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best card for clothes shopping

Amex cards tend to have a lot of retail offers for extra points, depending where you shop. Make sure to check them before shopping

Also, get an ebates account. Lots of stores give extra points on ebates that you can take as Memberrship Rewards points on Amex. 

Message 2 of 22
wasCB14
Super Contributor

I saved a few hundred dollars on clothing with Citi price rewind, but that's about to be discontinued. Without that, I'll also be mostly using Amex for purchase protection, offers, and Ebates.

Personal spend: Amex Gold, Amex Schwab Plat., BofA PR+CCR(x2), Costco
Business use: Amex Bus. Plat., BBP, Lowes Amex AU, CFU AU
Perks: Delta Plat., United Explorer, IHG49, Hyatt, "Old SPG"
Mostly SD: Freedom Flex, Freedom, Arrival
Upgrade/Downgrade games: ED, BCE
SUB chasing: AA Platinum Select
Message 3 of 22
acciofirebolt
Contributor