Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best credit card for travel

tag
micvite
Frequent Contributor

Best credit card for travel

I'm looking to start traveling extensively again over the next few years (once covid is over), but what is the best rewards system for transfering points over to get the best value? Amex MR (would get the platinum, already have the gold), Chase (probably get the sapphire preffered) or one of the citi cards? If I'm primarily traveling to asia (Japan, China, Thailand, Taiwon) and pretty much all of Europe what do you guys recommend especially for which airline to transfer to and stuff? I'm completely new to booking travel with points through award trips and stuff so I have no clue what I'm doing. Currently have around  120k Amex MR points in stock, but can quickly stock up on other points as well. Would prefer to apply for at least 2 cards to get:

1) the most coverage for the most travel partners

2)the extra global entry credit for my wife as well as extra priority pass guests for when I'm traveling with other people.

But, I'm here for advice, so not sure if that's the smart thing to do. Currently using AMEX gold for all dining supermarket and flights (have yet to use the **bleep** 100$ yearly credit lol) The platinum makes sense for me for the 5x on airlines, but the Chase saphire reserve looks interesting for the 50% bonus on point redemption. So I'm quite torn. As far as getting more chase points, I'd probably have to look into applying for at least 1 other chase product as well, unless the 3x on dining and the 50% redemption make it better than the gold card for dining?

Ex: 742, TU: 726, EQ: 733 03/31/2021
Discover it cashback: $10900
Citi DC: $13000
WF Propel: closed 2k
Amex BCED: $3000
Amex Gold: $NPSL
Amex Plat: NPSL
Cap1 QS: $3200
Cap1 VX $50k
VS CC: $2900
Kohls: $3000
Synchrony car care: $3000
citi best buy visa: $8500
Message 1 of 40
39 REPLIES 39
FormerCollegeDJ
Frequent Contributor