Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best next steps? BT to existing card or new app

tag
goal_digger
Regular Contributor

Best next steps? BT to existing card or new app

Been having a financial debate in my head for the past several days and finally decided to put my scenario out there for feedback. My scores below are current. No baddies on my report but I have higher utilization (~52%) which is weighing down my score. (note: please no negative comments on my high util. I've actually brought it down significantly in the past year from being nearly maxed so I'm proud of my progress).

Recently received BT offers on my BOA Cash Rewards card that I'm thinking of taking advantage of. I have never done one before, hence my uncertainty. So here goes...

The balances I would like to transfer are all store accounts subject to ridiculously high interest rates:

West Elm $2594/$4800 (54% util)
Overstock $2016/$3250 (62% util)
Macy's $3771/$12000 (31% util)

My BOA card has a balance of ~$2800 @ 23% util. Just received a SP CLI on the account so that's not an option right now. The current BT offers on my card are 0% int for 12 mos with 4% fee and I have the option to deposit the cash to checking or transfer balances to my card. Also have another offer at 1.99% int for 15 mos with 4% fee same options. In my reading on here I've read it's not good to BT to a card with a balance on it so if someone would kindly help me understand why I would greatly appreciate it because my initial thought is to just BT the two comenity accounts to the card, SD it and throw the combined $400 I pay for the cards per month at it.

My questions are:
Should I take advantage of the BOA BT offer? What's the best approach? Or should I app a separate BT card? If so, thoughts on which one?

Here are some additional stats:
TU score lower due to a personal loan only appearing on that bureau
1/24 (just apped/received the Amex Plat in April)