Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to use cards

tag
Herb8108
Valued Member

Best way to use cards

I'm still new in the rebuilding phase my Experian score is 620 transunion is 533 equifax is 531 according to CK. I have a few cards Capital One QS 850 credit limit, 657 balance on it, Next card is Capital One Platinum Secured 500 limit, I have a 427 Balance on that, Next Card is Discover It 700 limit, my balance on that is 597, Next Card Credit One Amex it's fairly new my limit is 600, I have a zero balance on that, I am an Authorized User on my cousins BOA card with a 13,600 limit and they have a 1500 balance on that. 

So my question is once I pay all my balances down to zero which I am working on that now how would I use those cards to maximize all the benefits in terms of getting the most cash back from the quicksilver and the discover it as well as the credit one. I'm trying to show responsible payment history while trying to rebuild my reputation with capital one. I'm trying to get like most of you guys who are in the 700s across all scores 

More Life, More Credit, More Power
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best way to use cards

I'd use Disco for all of the 5% cash back spending, and the rest on the QS. Leave the others at zero except for a small purchase (like a coke) every couple months. They aren't worth bothering with as they don't offer rewards. 

For the two you use, each month use them all you like, but pay off one completely before the statement date, so it reports zero, and the other, pay down to $10, let that report, then pay it off once the statement cuts. This way you avoid interest, preserve your grace period, and still benefit from cash back.

One possible variation - if Credit One charges a monthly fee, let that be the one that reports that fee balance each month, and pay Disco and QS to zero.

Message 2 of 11
FormerCollegeDJ
Frequent Contributor