Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BoA premium --> cash rewards downgrade?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

BoA premium --> cash rewards downgrade?

Was considering scooping up the BoA premium rewards in hopes of a $500 SUB.  The card overall doesn't really suit me, so I was thinking a downgrade to cash rewards and taking a 3% category of my choice could work.  Has anyone done this?  Does the AF on the premium hit right away, or can it be avoided with a downgrade before it hits?  If so, are there examples of AA (account closure, etc) due to avoiding the AF and just grabbing the SUB?  I have no experience with BoA, so any info here could help.  

Basically, I'm thinking of replicating what I did with Chase... approved for the CSP to get the $500 SUB, downgraded it at ~11 months before the AF hit to a Freedom (card I saw value in) and went on with life.  No AA from Chase, so overall it worked out.

Not sure if it is relevant at all, but my only history with BoA is a clean closed mortgage; no revolver history at all. 

I also have read some pretty good BoA card growth stories on the forum lately, so the possibility of bringing a card on board with solid growth potential sounds promising as well.  Not sure if the growth potential of a premium vs cash rewards card is different, so that's another spinoff question that I wouldn't mind hearing an answer/opinions to as well.  Thanks in advance to all.

Message 1 of 41
40 REPLIES 40
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: BoA premium --> cash rewards downgrade?

https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Credit-Cards/BoA-does-not-allow-Product-Changes-Downgrades-from-Pre...

ETA - the AF is not waived so if you're attempting to be thrifty, just know it can likely hit before you could entertain any downgrade.
Message 2 of 41
kdm31091
Super Contributor