Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BofA Student Platinum Plus Visa for over 4 years, and still at $1k limit

tag
delf
Established Member

BofA Student Platinum Plus Visa for over 4 years, and still at $1k limit

Hello myFICO,

I have had the same unsecured card since finishing school 2008.  I got it about a year after I graduated (never too late to get a student card I guess).  In the same year I consolidated my student loans and got an auto loan at the local credit union (no credit cards Smiley Sad).  After 4 years of solid payment history, it is time to grow my credit.  I am not planning on getting a mortgage anytime soon, but would like a card with No FTF and a card that will grow like an AMEX BCE revolver.       

I would like to convert my account with BofA to a BankAmerica Travel Rewards no annual fee card, and sign up for AMEX Blue Cash Everyday.

How would you maximize this transition of asking for a CLI/ conversion, and applying for a new card?          Thanks. 

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: BofA Student Platinum Plus Visa for over 4 years, and still at $1k limit

I'd call up BofA first and ask if they will product change the card into the Travel Rewards card.    If they can't then you'll have to decide if you want to app for a new card with BofA or go elsewhere.    AMEX is quirky with approvals...and their revolving cards seem to have more stringent approval requirements than their charge cards.    They'll likely pull your Experian report.    How do your reports look ?  Any negatives or derogatory accounts ?

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 15
DaveSignal
Valued Contributor

i want that travel rewards card too. I am planning on applying when i arrive in uk next month. You could also try just going online and applying for the card. If not approved call in for recon and explain your 4 year history with boa.
EX:694 TU:744 EQ:777