Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CITI pulled my CR without informing me?

tag
CBTS
Frequent Contributor

CITI pulled my CR without informing me?

I checked my CR Monitoring Service (CITI Identity Monitor) yesterday and saw there was an inquiry by CBNA (CITI Bank) for 07/03/13. I have a secured MasterCard with CITI that I got in February 2012. It was an agreement for 18 months, so my contract is supposed to end sometime next month, after which I was supposed to have been offered a regular credit card with them. I logged into my CITI online account as soon as I saw the inquiry and the following message popped up:

"We have reissued a new Citi® MasterCard® with the same account number as your current card. You should receive it by 7/24/2013.

If it has already arrived, activate it now.

This replacement card may have been requested by an authorized user(s) on the account or is a new card being issued to you by Citi.

If you have not received your new card(s) by 7/24/2013 please contact Customer Service at 1-800-950-5114."

I called the customer service a couple of times as soon as I saw the inquiry, and it was a painful experience. Both the representatives told me different things and it seemed like they had no idea what they were talking about. First one said it was a replacement for my current secured card because the one that I have is going to expire next month. But when I asked her why CITI pulled my report if it only was just a replacement, these were her exact words "Then why did you (me) request a replacement?" I was about to say "Are you effing serious?" but held myself back and told her nevermind and ended the call. The second representative at first said it really was a regular credit card, but then also said it could very well be a replacement for the secured card. Is it really possible that there's no way to find out what card it really is? More importantly, can CITI pull my credit report WITHOUT my authorization?