Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cancelling immediately after application the secured credit card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Cancelling immediately after application the secured credit card

Hello all,

I am a new college student and some days ago I applied in a bank for a credit card. The teller told me that I can apply for 2 credit student cards (0 apr, unsecured) and receive both. However, I was rejected for both of them and when I went back he told me that these things happen in random (the rejections) and that the bank offers me a counteroffer which is a secured version (non student) of one of the aforementioned cards. Naive I was, I signed and gave a small deposit. However, I see many of my college student friends were approved for the student card in the same or other banks. Now, I want to cancel the secured one and go somewhere else to receive a student credit card, taking back my deposit. Is this gonna affect my credit score? Moreover, the fact that I was rejected had to do with the fact that I applied for two student credit cards at once?( the teller told me there won't be an issue with applying for two of those)
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Cancelling immediately after application the secured credit card

I personally would leave it open for 6 months to establish positive credit history. 

Did you check Discover’s pre-qual for the student card? 

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for your answer.

I will check out the card you referring to. So you propose just to leave it open, without using it for 6 months?
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

I’d leave it open and show usage with low utility. 

Message 4 of 10
Gokuva
Regular Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I’d leave it open and show usage with low utility. 

Agreed.

Message 5 of 10
NRB525
Super Contributor

OP, which brand student card did you apply for?

Which brand of secured card did you get?