Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap 1 does it again & about to open a case with CFPB

tag
AzCreditGuy
Established Contributor

Cap 1 does it again & about to open a case with CFPB

I stopped using my Cap1 card for a while and started up again when my business needed to pay off some expenses and since Cap1 offers BT with no BT fees, I have been using this for 2 months now. Yes I know some of you will state Cap1 will frown on you or even close your account for repeated BT like this. Why though, if they dont like this, why dont they remove this feature on my account and others who have done the same thing? 

Anyways last month on my 1st BT I took out the BT after my statement closed to avoid any interest and pay it off on the following month which would give me a month give or take some days. 

Cap 1 ended up charging me a INTEREST CHARGESmiley FrustratedPECIAL TRANS for $2.97, yes this is a small charge but there was no reason. I was within in my full month to pay off this BT, I called into Cap 1 to get this removed. They did and they could not explain how I was charged (SURE)

This month they have done it again for $43.37, even though I have timed it where 2 BT would not incure any interest.  Let me know if I am in the wrong here... And I am pretty sure this for the BT I did in June 2022 as you can see below on my spreadsheet, no interest should have been added to the account since it was paid off within the timeframe to avoid interest. Cap1 also reported this interest as a balance to all 3 credit reports too. 

Screenshot 2022-08-04 092532.png

18 REPLIES 18
learningcredit54
Regular Contributor

Re: Cap 1 does it again & about to open a case with CFPB