cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap One credit limit increase explanation ?

tag
JOHNINAZ
New Contributor

Cap One credit limit increase explanation ?

Decided to move forward with a Cap One card with rewards, cash back, bla bla bla but they also state they will increase your limit after 5 timely payments. Since I do this on my two cards now (leaving either no balance or a minimal one) I am asking what to expect ? After 5 months will the bump it $100 or 250 or 500 ? Its only a $500 limit now so I doubt they will double it and will they increase it again in another 5 months if those payments are made on time. FYI, up until this year I've only had a AMX but that was probably 10-12 years go. So Im kinda new to the credit card thing and with having past credit issues its a whole new learning curve for me in the world of plastic. Any input would be appreicated. THX

Starting Score: 539
Current Score: 645,630,615
Goal Score: 750

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
MyDataMyChoice
Valued Contributor

Re: Cap One credit limit increase explanation ?

Ive seens some people have a card go from 300 ---> 2500

Message 2 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Capital one is weird with CLI's . I put thousands on my card in the 6 months hoping to get a better CLI but only got 200 . My girlfriend that rarley used her $300 cap 1 card got an auto CLI of $3000 after her 5th statement . That's 10X her starting limit . With capital one you never know . Just use the card as you normally would and hope for the best when it's time for your CLI .
Message 3 of 15
CreditCuriosity
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote: