Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap1 PreQual...?

tag
Charmante
Frequent Contributor

Cap1 PreQual...?

They Pre-Qualified me for the Platinum AND QS1... Their Pre-Qual System says it ONLY checks for their SUBprime cards... SO -- since I PreQual for those 2 -- is it likely I ACTUALLY could be approved for better?

Which one SHOULD I apply for?

Which of their PRIME cards is EASIEST to get?

I'm a VERY thin file beginner. 677 credit score (EX), 1 Macy's card, only 4 Months old, $10,000 limit. Less than 1% util., CLEAN FILE: NO baddies, 1 inq.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Cap1 PreQual...?

Keep in mind that the QS1 has an annual fee.  Platinum has no fee, no rewards but you can also upgrade it to a QS after a couple of months. 

Message 2 of 6
KLEXH25
Valued Contributor

@Charmante wrote:

They Pre-Qualified me for the Platinum AND QS1... Their Pre-Qual System says it ONLY checks for their SUBprime cards... SO -- since I PreQual for those 2 -- is it likely I ACTUALLY could be approved for better?

Which one SHOULD I apply for?

Which of their PRIME cards is EASIEST to get?

I'm a VERY thin file beginner. 677 credit score (EX), 1 Macy's card, only 4 Months old, $10,000 limit. Less than 1% util., CLEAN FILE: NO baddies, 1 inq.

Based on information from your previous posts, you will likely only qualify for their subprime cards right now. The Capital One Platinum card was my first card ($300 limit), and then I got a Discover It card 5 months later ($500). This may be a good place to start. Getting premium cards with high limits this early on is just not likely at all, despite having a $10,000 store card.

Message 3 of 6
Ficoproblems247
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Keep in mind that the QS1 has an annual fee.  Platinum has no fee, no rewards but you can also upgrade it to a QS after a couple of months.